Ben Franklin News

Ben Franklin Presents iXchange; Watch Video!

The iXchange video is posted online here.

Retiring CEO Chad Paul Honored With Multiple Dedications


Dedicating a large meeting and conference room, renaming an Innovation Award, and naming a private street – all to honor R. Chadwick Paul, Jr., retiring President and CEO of the Ben Franklin Technology Partners of Northeastern Pennsylvania (BFTP/NEP).

(photo left: Ben Franklin Technology Partners retiring CEO Chad Paul and new CEO Angelo Valletta on Chad Paul Way, newly dedicated private street alongside Ben Franklin TechVentures.)

More than 330 registered for Ben Franklin’s annual iXchange, a premier business/technology event in northeastern Pennsylvania, held virtually on May 18. This year’s iXchange included a farewell to retiring President and CEO Chad Paul and a welcome to new Ben Franklin President and CEO Angelo Valletta. BFTP/NEP presented six innovation awards to early-stage technology companies, established manufacturers, and individuals who have helped Ben Franklin to advance the technology economy of northeastern Pennsylvania. Valletta had a fireside chat with longtime Ben Franklin Solutions Network member Dale Falcinelli.

Under Paul’s leadership, the award-winning Ben Franklin TechVentures® incubator/post incubator grew three times, from 18,000 square feet to 129,000 square feet. Paul raised $16.4 million to fund these massive expansions. That and his many other accomplishments were celebrated at the iXchange. The Ben Franklin board honored Paul by dedicating the largest meeting and conference room in Ben Franklin TechVentures in his name and renaming the Ben Franklin Incubator Graduate Award as the R. Chadwick Paul, Jr. Incubator Graduate Award. The board also authorized the naming of a private street alongside Ben Franklin TechVentures as Chad Paul Way.

The Ben Franklin Technology Partners innovation award winners are:

Entrepreneurial Achievement Award

OPTiMO, Bloomsburg

Michael Miguelez, Founder and Chief Executive Officer

The R. Chadwick Paul, Jr. Incubator Graduate Award

ChannelApe, Scranton

Mike Averto, Chief Executive Officer and Jason DePietropaolo, Chief Operating Officer

Product Innovation Award

Signallamp Health, Inc., Scranton

Drew Kearney and Andrew Goldberg, Co-Founders

Innovative Application of Technology Award

SOLO Laboratories, Inc., Kutztown

Lindsay Sokol Szejko, Chief Executive Officer; Jonathan Naugle Owner, R&D Engineer; and Jaimyn Sokol Westenhoefer, Owner, President

Manufacturing Achievement Award

Effort Foundry, Inc., Bath

Charles D. Hamburg, Chief Executive Officer and William C. Easterly, President

The Frederick J. Beste III Partnership Award

Eugene A. Lucadamo

Director of Industry Research Engagement, retired, Lehigh University, Bethlehem


The iXchange concluded with on-line breakout rooms at which guests welcomed Valletta and thanked Paul.

Coverage via Lehigh Valley Business, LVEDC